Humor and OCD

Something I found appalling at first is actually helping me with my OCD and anxiety: humor.

baby-laughing

 

My therapist first suggested this in a group meeting I had a few months ago. She suggested coming up with a hilarious newspaper headline about whatever my obsession was saying. At the time my obsession was “what if I am unfit to be a mother in the future because of my OCD?” So my group helped me come up with a headline announcement. It was “Woman unfit to be mother due to fear of OCD affecting her children. Children running crazy and making up their own rules and thinking this is the best parenting ever.” At the time I didn’t really think it was all that funny. It didn’t feel funny. However as others began to share their headlines for their own obsessions I began to come around. I haven’t really employed this practice until recently because I told a couple of my friends about my obsessions and they offered me some really funny uncertainty scenarios. I’m so glad that they did, because it has really showed me how valuable humor can be in the battle with OCD.

The first obsession was triggered by a movie about people affected by serious head trauma. It was sad what happened to them and I’m very sensitive to movies. They tend to trigger me a lot. One of the people began to hear voices that told him to kill his wife. So of course, I began to obsess about killing my husband. I told my friend and she told me “I will gladly volunteer to stand next to you on a cliff as an exposure. We cannot know for sure if you will or will not push me off. If you killed someone, you may go to jail, but you could probably get off easily with insanity.” I am smiling again as I write this. I just found it so funny! And OCD doesn’t know what to do with that. Why?

Because I believe laughter is the antidote to fear.

Another obsession I had was, “what if I am a bad person and unfaithful because I slept in on Sunday and did not go to church?” I texted another friend and she said that I may or may not be a heathen. She also said we will have to wait and see where I end up on Judgement Day. Then she put the fire emoji! It was awesome. 

In both of these cases, humor helped me so much. It is just another weapon to put in our arsenal against OCD. I would love to hear about any time you have used humor to help you with anxiety!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Etain says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I wish I had thought of this a few months ago, when I was in the worst of it! This is a great strategy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for visiting! I hope that this can somehow help you when you are in the throes of doubt!

      Like

  2. Ashley says:

    When I was working on harm OCD, my husband said something about taking all of the knives out of the house, and it was really funny. I was to a place where I was okay with his joking about it. I think this is a really great strategy for handling intrusive thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s because you are a natural at humorous scenarios! I will always go to you for help creating something to make me laugh!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

