1 Million 4 OCD Walk in Atlanta

 

2 weeks ago I attended my first OCD awareness event. It was the 1 Million Steps 4 OCD Walk in Atlanta.

It was incredible.

I have done a few 5k’s before (always walking, I hate running) for different causes. I’ve done some fundraisers for things that are important to me.

However, this was the first time I had participated in something that directly affected me.

To see so many people standing together who truly understood the battle with OCD was moving.

These are the warriors who are helping to make a difference in my life.

These are the doctors who tirelessly research and study my mind to find ways to help me live life to the fullest.

These are the therapists who cheer me on and teach me skills that I so desperately need to change my relationship with anxiety.

These are the advocates who are raising awareness to end the stigma that hurts me.

These are friends who struggle beside me and honestly share their struggles to empower me.

walk1

 

 

This is my hero who walks beside me in the darkest places.

walk

All I can say is thank you from the bottom of my heart. Thank you to everyone who planned and worked so hard to make the event happen. Thank you to everyone who attended the event and treated me with such kindness. Thank you to those who donated to our team. And thank you to my husband and my LORD for always being right beside me. #1Million4OCD

walk4

 

Leave a comment